Tuesday, August 5, 2008

Zozobra Release and Stream "Bird of Prey" Today on Hydra Head!

Release and Stream New Album, Bird of Prey, Today on Hydra Head!

Beautifully harmonious at times, and at other times sounding like you are in the earthquake of the century. – Punknews.org

Zozobra is a psycho-sonic mind-pyre befitting its name." – Paper Thin Walls

A crushing mix of sampled beats and machine-like riffage, topped with vocals that swing from growls to purrs in a matter of measures. – Alarm Magazine

This is a band that only solidifies the fact that metal is now becoming a genre for the thinking man. – Copper Press

Fast on the seismic heels of last year’s Harmonic Tremors, Zozobra mastermind Caleb Scofield (Cave In/Old Man Gloom) has set off another face-rupturing power-trembler in the North American underground. Bird Of Prey is our man’s second full-length under the Zozobra moniker, a white-hot exploder shot through with snaking melody lines and implacable riffs. From front to back, Scofield’s signature roar is tempered by his own gleaming backup chants; meanwhile, an arsenal of guitars alternately churns and shimmers in the flames of Zozobra’s effigial namesake. Recorded and mixed by Isis drummer Aaron Harris — who also lent his considerable drumming talents to the proceedings — Bird Of Prey is the latest installment in Hydra Head’s Reign Of Awesome 2008. It is the sound of a conquering horde—only in this case, the horde consists of exactly one dude who manages to sound like ten.

Stream all of Bird of Prey here!

Tracklist for Bird of Prey:
1. Eminate
2. Heavy With Shadows
3. Treacherous
4. Heartless Enemy
5. Big Needles
6. Sharks That Circle
7. In Jetstreams
8. Laser Eyes

For more information, visit: