Wednesday, March 26, 2008

Pitchfork Talks VSS Reissue on Hydra Head!

huge thanks to Amy Phillips and the entire Pitchfork staff!

Hydra Head Reissues the VSS' Nervous Circuits

Hydra Head -- home of nontraditionally extreme bands like Jesu, Pelican, Oxbow, and Xasthur -- will reissue San Francisco noise punk band the VSS' Nervous Circuits as a CD/DVD set on May 20.

The 1997 album, originally released on Honey Bear Records, was the VSS' only full-length release; members of the band went on to form Pleasure Forever and Year Future as well as found the Gold Standard Laboratories label.

For the Hydra Head reissue of Nervous Circuits, the first 1000 copies will come with a bonus CD of studio and live recordings from a set at Santa Cruz radio station KZSC. The DVD features a slideshow of photos and fliers, a compilation of performances from the 1997 Nervous Circuits Tour, and footage of full live sets at the DUMBO Warehouse in Brooklyn, the Depot in Boulder, CO, and the Co-op in Berkeley, CA.

Nervous Circuits:

01 Death Scene
02 In Miniature
03 Sibling Ascending
04 Effigy
05 Lunar Weight
06 Conscious
07 What Kind of Ticks?
08 Chemical in Chemistry
09 Swift Kicks
10 Nervous Circuits

The Skin of Tiny Teeth [bonus disc]:

01 No Hands
02 Rats
03 Accessory
04 Silt, Etc.
05 Tone Dialer
06 Trajectory [Live on KZSC; Santa Cruz, CA]
07 Death Scene [Live on KZSC; Santa Cruz, CA]
08 Swift Kicks [Live on KZSC; Santa Cruz, CA]
09 In Miniature [Live on KZSC; Santa Cruz, CA]
10 Sibling Ascending [Live on KZSC; Santa Cruz, CA]
11 Solid Gold Follower [Live on KZSC; Santa Cruz, CA]
12 What Kind of Ticks? [Live on KZSC; Santa Cruz, CA]
13 Lunar Weight [Live on KZSC; Santa Cruz, CA]
14 Nervous Circuits [Live on KZSC; Santa Cruz, CA]


Nervous Circuits Tour 1997:

01 Death Scene (Fireside Bowl - Chicago)
02 What Kind of Ticks? (Fireside Bowl - Chicago)
03 I'll Wait Right Here (previously unrecorded) (DUMBO Warehouse - Brooklyn)
04 Swift Kicks (DUMBO Warehouse - Brooklyn)
05 Chemical In Chemistry (Black Cat - DC)
06 Lunar Weight (First Unitarian Church - Philadelphia)
07 Sibling Ascending (The Depot - Boulder)
08 I Cut My Teeth (The Depot - Boulder)
09 Nervous Circuits (The Depot - Boulder)

Live in Brooklyn, NY - DUMBO Warehouse

01 What Kind of Ticks?
02 Sibling Ascending
03 Death Scene
04 I'll Wait Right Here
05 Swift Kicks
06 I Cut My Teeth

Live in Boulder, CO - The Depot

01 Intro
02 What Kind of Ticks?
03 Death Scene
04 Sibling Ascending
05 I Cut My Teeth
06 Swift Kicks
07 Nervous Circuits

Live in Berkeley, CA - Co-op

01 Swift Kicks
02 What Kind of Ticks?
03 Lunar Weight
04 Evolution


For more information, visit: