Tuesday, November 20, 2007

TUSK and HUGUENOTS Release New Albums on Hydra Head Today!

Release New Albums from TUSK and THE HUGUENOTS Today!

"The Resisting Dreamer"

28 months after the start of initial tracking, 10 months since anyone gave a shit, Tusk is ready to share their magnum opus, their potential swan song, "The Resisting Dreamer", with the world via the Tortuga Recording Company (a sub-division of the Los Angeles based Hydra Head Records).

Two and a half years in the making, "The Resisting Dreamer" is a single 37 minute song divided into four tracks across two sides of vinyl or one side of shiny plastic (depending on your purchasing preference). Original vocalist Jody Minnoch was not available to contribute, but the record benefits from the disparate sounds and intensely talented contributions of Evan Patterson of Young Widows and Toby Driver of Kayo Dot. The two vocalists contributed their own lyrics in tandem and together weave a tale of regret, resentment, and (classic Tusk lyrical theme) descent in madness as the inner worlds of despair and guilt ravage the soul of the album's protagonist, who caves into their nightmarish inner world to ultimately taste "The Lewdness and Frenzy of Surrender."

Recorded and mixed by Tusk alumn Greg Norman at Electrical Audio studios (during Pelican's "Fire In Our Throats Will Beckon the Thaw" sessions from midnight to five am) and Studio Greg Studios II, the album has a sound and style unlike anything they have attempted in the past. Occasionally groove-laden, occasionally spastic, and often unnerving, "The Resisting Dreamer" is the sound of a band that has absolutely no interest in proving anything to anyone.

Stream "The Resisting Dreamer" HERE!

Tracklist for "The Resisting Dreamer"
1. The Everlasting Taste of Disguise (07:32)
2. Cold Twisted Aisle (07:43)
3. Life's Denial (05:58)
4. The Lewdness and Frenzy of Surrender (16:13)

For more information, visit:



Much like the members of the Protestant Reformed Church of France from which they took their name, The Huguenots spent the mid-to-late 90s reading the works of John Calvin, attempting to abduct the king, and being impaled on hooks outside the Ch√Ęteau d’Amboise. When they weren’t doing all that “revolutionary” French shit, The Huguenots were a band truly ahead of their time, pumping out the kind of slash n’ burn noise terror that prefigured the current crop of “avant-punk” poster-children (we’d name names, but what’d be the point?) while razing various New England-area basements, living rooms and VFW halls before hitting their jagged stride on an HH-sponsored split ten-inch with SevenPercentSolution.

Up until (and during) their untimely demise, they subsisted almost entirely on a diet
of rabbit meat and foie gras and included amongst their number Messieurs Kurt Ballou
(Converge), Aaron Stuart (Piebald), Dan Colby (The Explosion and subsequently and now
formerly of hot mods/all-time worst-selling HH band The Never Never) and Matt Oates
(also subsequently and now formerly of The Never Never and currently of Boston speed
grunge aficionados Angels of Meth).
Included here is The Huguenots’ entire discography (hence the title, duh), including the aforementioned split, along with a solemn promise that they are not actually (nor have they ever been) French.

We know you’re asking yourself who the damn Huguenots are. Believe us: There’s a reason Hydra Head backed them with a split 10” in our modest early days (yes, they weren’t always the influential empire they are now). The Huguenots pioneered a style of avant punk that today has spread like the plague.

The Huguenots are defunct. So “no”: They won’t get back together to tour and cash in on this long overdue discography.

Some members of The Huguenots went on to measurable success in their other bands
(Piebald, The Explosion, Converge and even The Never Never!). Plenty of people want to know what those cats were up to in their early days. As far as we’re concerned, they were up to making killer music at a time when the underground was alive with thousands of visionary bands. Remember Angel Hair, Clicatat Ikatowi, Twelve Hour Turn, Shotmaker, Gravity Records, Swing Kids? Likely not. Well the same fate of obscurity will not affect The Huguenots!

Tracklisting for Huguenots Discography:
1. Postscript (1:37)
2. Jefferson High (1:51)
3. Bent Wreck (1:26)
4. Sent It Airmail (2:03)
5. Patient Zero (2:14)
6. A Kind of Blue Covered the Entire City (1:32)
7. Young Pretender (4:22)
8. 10 Watt Bulb (2:17)
9. Trance Like (2:51)
10. A Horde of Bees (3:29)
11. Postscript (1:31)
12. A Horde of Bees (3:42)
13. Sent It Airmail (2:11)
14. 10 Watt Bulb (3:05)
15. Patient Zero (1:37)
16. Misanthropic Surgery (2:09)

For more information, visit: