Wednesday, February 27, 2008

David Karsten Daniels Announces "Fear of Flying!"

David Karsten Daniels
Announces New Album, Fear of Flying, out April 29th on Fat Cat Records!

David Karsten Daniels is not just another Southern-bred singer/songwriter strumming in the farmhouse. Though he masters folk standards with buttery vocals over delicate acoustic tones, Daniels' ensemble of back-up instruments renders his sound entrancingly lush. -

David Karsten Daniels sings lullabies of a different kind; his dry voice blends Will Oldham's throaty twang with Devendra Banhart's nearly spoken drawl. Daniels's quiet, repetitive delivery on his CD "Sharp Teeth" makes "Jesus and the Devil" sound like a familiar campfire singalong, but the cynicism of his lyrics ("I saw Jesus and the Devil; they looked just the same") gives a darker edge to his indie-folk sound. - The Washington Post

North Carolina-born songwriter David Karsten Daniels deals comfortably in paradox - whether negotiating between “Jesus and the Devil” on last year’s FatCat debut, Sharp Teeth, or finding the magnificent balance between his meticulous arrangements and newly raw guitar and drum textures of his latest
effort, Fear Of Flying.

While more consistent than his previous work, Fear Of Flying goes much further into uncomfortable lyrical territory, exploring the heady questions that arise when death and love meet. Daniels also expands his sonic pallette with new instrumentation and influences. As he explains, “[it’s] both more of a pop record and more of a noise record. I set out to make a classic rock album, and I'm not sure where I ended up, but I don't think it's in the 70s.”

As with all Daniels’ recordings to date, Fear of Flying was self-recorded at home, aided and augmented by an array of like-minded, mutually supportive musicians from the Chapel Hill based Bu Hanan Collective, which he co-founded with Alex Lazara, Daniel Hart and Perry Wright.

Daniels will be appearing at SXSW, as well as performing throughout April during weekly residences in Portland and his new hometown of Seattle; a full national tour is scheduled for May.

* Note: This album will be serviced as a digital promo

Fear of Flying Tracklist
1. Wheelchairs
2. That Knot Unties?
3. Martha Ann
4. Falling Down
5. A Myoclonic Jerk
6. A New Garment
7. Every Time A Baby Is Born
8. The Caretaker
9. Oh, Heaven Isn’t Real
10. In My Child Mind You Were A Lion
11. Evensong

US Tourdates Coming Soon!

Daytrotter speaks to David Karsten Daniels!

Watch David Karsten Daniels Live in Jackson, Mississippi!

For more information, visit: